Tomato Soup Disaster

Last night I thought I would be clever and make a *delicious* tomato soup. From scratch. We have a garden in our backyard, in which we have an enormous tomato plant. As such, we had a good seven tomatoes sitting on our kitchen counter waiting to be consumed. So I went on Pinterest and searched through tomato soup recipes for the Vitamix. I found several that had the same ingredients:

-Handfull of chopped tomatoes
-3 Cloves of garlic
-Handful of basil leaves
-Spices (salt, pepper, and others to taste)
Etc.

So I thought I would give it a try. I chopped my tomatoes, peeled my garlic, and gathered my spices. I put them all in the Vitamix and gave them a whirl until it was smooth.

Well, it didn’t turn out as I had expected. It tasted very strongly of garlic and it was thick and frothy. I tried adding water and putting it on the stove to simmer, but then it was, in essence, tomato-garlic-water.

In desperation, I asked my husband what he thought I should do and he suggested adding some Campbell’s Tomato soup. I must repeat, I was desperate. It was late, we were hungry, the kids were cranky, and Hubby was already nearly done cooking the grilled cheese sandwiches for accompaniment… I had to get it done quickly.

IMG_1676
It was for that reason that I quickly dumped a can into the mixture and stirred it in with a whisk, hoping beyond hope that we could all stomach what I’d made.

The result, I am happy to say, was actually palatable. It still had a strong garlic taste, but it was far more manageable than my original mixture. It was also excellent to dip a grilled cheese into.

IMG_1672

For all of your sakes – and your sanity – please do not try to replicate my recipe; if I had the choice, I would not make it the same way again. In the future I may try another version, but for now I’m all tomato-souped out.

Thank you for reading, and farewell for now!

2 thoughts on “Tomato Soup Disaster

  1. You really need to use a roux and then stock like chicken or beef or vegetable stock as a base for making soups. Tomatoes also probably do better being blanched to get the skins off prior to cooking into a soup

    Keep trying.

    Like

    • Hi Amanda! Thank you for your comment! I saw several other recipes that called for broth, and looking back on it, I would have put some in (if I’d had it in the cupboard) – maybe next time. I also read a few that called for milk/cream (which we’d also just run out of). In retrospect, the night before we go grocery shopping is probably a bad time to make an attempt at a new recipe.

      Thank you for your advice! It is greatly appreciated!

      Like

Leave a Reply

