Strangely Delicious Avocado Spaghetti

Good morning blog readers! I think this recipe was the very first that I’ve chosen from Pinterest that did not need to be altered at all. It turned out absolutely perfect. And strangely delicious. Yes, strangely… Avocado with pasta was not something I would have put together on my own, but it was so great I wish I’d had more.

I will begin from the beginning (har har). The other night I realized that I hadn’t come up with anything for dinner and Hubby was already on his way home from work. We had five avocados that were ripe yesterday so would likely be mushy already. I knew I needed to use them. But what could I do with five ripe avocados? Seemed excessive, yes? So I searched Pinterest. I found several interesting ideas (that I may try later), but the one that caught my eye was Avocado Spaghetti; it was simple, it looked good, and I had all the ingredients.

This is the recipe I followed:

– 2 chopped up garden tomatoes
– 1 cup mushed up ripe avocado meat
– 1 clove finely minced garlic
– 1 teaspoon lemon juice
– Several shakes of salt and pepper. (I didn’t measure, I just went to town shaking)
– 1/4 cup boiled pasta water
– Handful of spaghetti noodles

So after removing the *innards* from my five avocados, I separated the cup of meat into my measuring device.

IMG_1986IMG_1987

I then minced the garlic and added it to my bowl of avocado mush, added the teaspoon of lemon juice, and salt and peppered it.

IMG_1988IMG_1992IMG_1993

Mush, mush, mush! I made sure to put my noodles on the boil (I would have made more, but I realized belatedly that I didn’t have much spaghetti left – oh well. I’ll know for next time to make a TON because it’s delicious) and that my tomatoes were chopped (thanks to Hubby for chopping them for me while I took a break to chase kids).

IMG_1996IMG_1997

With the extra bit of mushed avocado, I added salt and pepper and put them in the buns I made previously. They made for tasty little avocado sandwiches.

IMG_1995

Once my noodles were ready, I scooped a 1/4 cup of water out and put it in with my avocado mixture and stirred it together.

IMG_1999IMG_2002

Lastly, it was simply a matter of plating it all. I mixed the avocado sauce with the strained spaghetti then plated it, topping it with the sliced tomatoes and adding a side of the mini avocado sandwiches. I only had enough for my older sons (5 and 4), Hubby, and I, but not enough for the twins as well. Like I said before, I’m definitely making more next time!

IMG_2003IMG_2004

Overall, if you like avocado I would highly recommend this recipe. It can be pricy with the cost of the avocados, but if you’ve got them around and are willing to give it a try, I think you’ll like it.

Cheers, and thanks for reading!

One thought on “Strangely Delicious Avocado Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Spinach and Avocado Pasta – Again | Cheri Champagne's Blog

Leave a Reply

