The Bland Enchiladas

Hello and good morning, everyone! This morning I will share with you my experience with last night’s enchilada dinner. There I was, surfing Pinterest, when I spotted someone’s post about enchiladas. I thought “Hey! I can do that!” and I went searching for more ideas. Each recipe generally had the same ingredients:

IMG_2241

Some recipes lacked certain elements while others had them. As closely as I could, I followed this recipe:

– 1 roasted chicken, carved (recipe called for 3-5 boneless/skinless chicken breasts (boiled & chopped))
– 1 rice package (I used Uncle Ben’s cheddar while the recipe called for 1 pkg of Knorr Spanish Rice Sides) (prepared)
– 1/3 brick of cream cheese (recipe called for 4 oz cream cheese (1/2 of 8 oz pkg) – but I didn’t know how to measure out the oz, so I guestimated)
– 2 tablespoons sour cream
– A bunch of shredded cheese – I used Monterey Jack mixed with aged Cheddar (the recipe called for oz again and as I had no idea what to do about this, I just shredded a bunch and put it in a bowl.)
– 2 tablespoons lime juice
– 1/4 teaspoon cumin
– Salt to taste
– 1 package flour tortillas
– 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
– 1 jar salsa (recipe called for 1 10 oz can enchilada sauce, but as that was absolutely nowhere in my grocery store, I had to settle for strained salsa)
IMG_2242 IMG_2243
Once I had gotten all of the ingredients ready, the rest was pretty simple. Here were the steps I took:
1. Prepare the rice (I just followed the directions on the outside of the package.)
2. Combine chicken, rice, shredded cheese (half of the amount you’ve shredded), sour cream, cream cheese, cumin, lime juice, & salt, in large bowl.
IMG_2244
IMG_2245
Mix, mix, mix!
3. Put the mixture in tortillas, roll, and put in a deep baking pan.
IMG_2247 IMG_2248 IMG_2249
In retrospect, I should have either made more of my mixture, or used it sparingly in the other wraps, because I had enough room at the end of the pan to put another one, but I had none of the mixture left.
4. Pour strained salsa (enchilada sauce) and whipping cream over the tortillas.
IMG_2250 IMG_2251
5. Sprinkle the rest of the shredded cheese over top.
IMG_2253
6. The recipe I followed said to “loosely cover”, but as I didn’t know what with, I used aluminum foil.
IMG_2254
7. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Remove the foil and keep in if you want your cheese to keep cooking. I did, so I put it in for another 10 minutes.
IMG_2256 IMG_2257
Serve and enjoy! I found mine to be bland (despite the salsa), so I would recommend that you taste your mixture and add more flavour if you feel it needs it. Despite it being a very bland meal, I think it went over well. We’ll try it again, for sure. Hopefully my second attempt will be successful!
IMG_2258 IMG_2259
Thank you for reading!
7 thoughts on “The Bland Enchiladas

  1. I have a recipe for crock pot pineapple chicken enchiladas that were fantastic if you are interested in it. Does your grocery store not have a Mexican food isle? I can find enchilada sauce in Chilliwack! 🙂 I got mine at Save On I think.

    Like

    • Crock pot, eh? Sounds intriguing. I’m not into pineapple in my food, but I’d still like to see the recipe if you’ve got it! Our grocery store (Superstore) has an “imported” food aisle in which they stock food from all over. Unfortunately, they had no enchilada sauce. I’ll have to check out Save On the next time I make it. Thanks!

      Like

      • It is burritos, not enchiladas, although I don’t know what the difference is. I will get you the recipe. That is odd, our Superstore has an imported foods aisle, and Mexican food by the chips. Odd that they wouldn’t have the same things.

        Like

      • They have taco stuff by the chips in our store. I looked there, too. They’ve got a ton of salsa and taco seasonings, but no enchilada sauce. I think the difference is that enchiladas are covered in sauce and cheese at the end and you’ve got to eat it with a knife and fork. While a burrito is wrapped similarly but you can eat it with your hands. 🙂 … I think.

        PS. Thanks!

        Like

      • That was my understanding of the difference too. But these “burritos” are covered in enchilada sauce and cheese. They taste fantastic regardless of the name! 🙂

        Pineapple Chicken Burritos
        3 chicken breasts
        1/2 can crushed pineapple, drained
        1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
        1 cup medium salsa
        1 can enchilada sauce
        1 cup shredded cheese
        1 cup cooked rice

        Put the chicken, pineapple, beans and salsa into the crock pot (can also be frozen ahead and then thawed and cooked when you want to eat them).
        Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. Remove chicken and shred. Mix the chicken back into the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients.
        Mix in the cooked rice.
        Fill 5-6 tortillas. Place in a 9×13 pan. Pour the can of enchilada sauce over the burritos.
        Top with shredded cheese and place under the broiler on the middle rack until the cheese is nice and melted, about 5 minutes.

        Like

  2. Pingback: The Delicious Second Attempt at Enchiladas | Cheri Champagne's Blog

Leave a Reply

