The Hideous but Delicious Banana Bread

Good morning, foodie readers! Today I’m blogging about my experience with making banana bread.

I had realized that we had an abundance of bananas that were a day or two past their “perfect” ripeness, and as I had so many, I decided to make something with them. I searched Pinterest for a recipe. Lo-and-behold I found one that seemed perfect.

This is the recipe I followed:

– 3/4 cup of room temperature butter (I got impatient so I put mine in the microwave for 15 seconds)
– 1 1/2 cups of sugar
– 2 cups flour
– 2 eggs
– 1 1/2 tablespoons of milk
– 3 ripe bananas
– 1 teaspoon of baking soda
– Chocolate chips (recipe said 1/2 a bag, but we buy huge bags, so I had to guestimate how much that would be – plus in this particular case, we were nearly out of chocolate chips so I had to improvise)

IMG_2279

As appealing as the “featured image” at the top of this blog may be, when the banana bread came out of the pans, they were anything but pretty.

Here are the steps that I took:

1. I measured out the ingredients, including the chocolate, which I replaced with a crunched/chopped 85% cocoa organic chocolate bar (yes, crazy expensive, but it was all I had) – as pictured below.

IMG_2273 IMG_2275 IMG_2278

I took lots of pictures of the chocolate… because I love chocolate.

Step #2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

3. Combine, in a large bowl, the butter and sugar. I used my hand mixer, which worked very well.

IMG_2280

4. Add eggs and blend.

IMG_2281

5. Add in the bananas and milk and mix well. It’ll be lumpy because of the bananas.

IMG_2282

IMG_2284

6. Add baking soda and flour (I mixed the two together before I put it in my mixture) and stir.

-Here I tried to continue using my hand mixer and I ended up feeling like a fool. Please don’t do what I did; it ended up being a giant, clumpy mess that took a little while to clean. When mixing in the flour, I highly recommend using a wooden spoon or whatever utensil you are accustomed to using.

IMG_2285 IMG_2286 IMG_2287

7. Stir in chocolate chips (or in my case, the crunched chocolate bar mixed with chocolate chips).

IMG_2288

8. The recipe I used called for “non-cook spray” on the pans, but as I don’t use that, I spread butter over my two loaf pans.

IMG_2289 IMG_2290

8. Divide the batter between the two pans.

IMG_2291

9. Bake for 45 minutes. I put mine in for 40 minutes and then kept an eye on it for another 5, just in case it had browned enough before the full 45 minutes.

IMG_2292

10. Let them cool! I *thought* I had learned my lesson with my son’s birthday cake (when I hadn’t let the cake cool before I tried taking it out – it ended up falling apart), but even after having let my loaves cool for an hour on the counter then half an hour in the fridge, they still came out looking like the pictures below.

IMG_2293 IMG_2294 IMG_2296

I just don’t understand it. I thoroughly buttered the pans, I waited until they’d cooled… what more did I miss? How can I get a cake/loaf to come out absolutely perfectly? Any advice would be appreciated.

Despite my banana bread looking hideous, it was startlingly delicious. I will definitely make this again, regardless of whether or not the loaves come out of the pans looking pretty.

Enjoy, and thank you for reading!

One thought on “The Hideous but Delicious Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: The Green Chocolate Chip Banana Loaf | Cheri Champagne's Blog

Leave a Reply

