Our Weekly Salad

Hi Everyone! I’m sorry I’ve been absent for a few days, I’ve been wildly busy with work (writing/editing) that I haven’t had time to be creative with meals. This blog post is about another of our weekly meals – the salad. This is our longest-running favourite meal and the recipe for the dressing has been in my family for generations.

Rest assured, my lovely readers, Hubby and I will be attempting to make a turkey dinner today and it will most definitely be blogged. The last time I tried to make one, the turkey ended up being raw… so this should be interesting.

OK! Here we go. Our weekly salad.

These are the salad ingredients:

IMG_2363

– 3-4 vine tomatoes (I only had two here so I added some cherry tomatoes)
– 1 or 2 handfuls of spinach (we didn’t have enough left for our usual salad, so I just used what was left)
– Kalamata Olives (to taste – we usually put in 10 or so)
– Feta cheese
– 1 yellow pepper
– 1 cucumber

The steps: – Use a large bowl for the salad.

1. Peel and cut the cucumber.

IMG_2364

One would think that I would know what to do and what not to do in my own recipe, but apparently we all have “those days”. I ordinarily have a bowl for peels, cuttings, etc. when I make my salads, and in this case, I ended up putting the yellow pepper top into my salad… I realized what I’d done and I took a picture. So here, readers and friends, enjoy my foible.

IMG_2365

2. Clean and chop yellow peppers.

IMG_2366

3. Slice tomatoes. *Note: In the pieces that are predominantly seeds (or they’re just hanging there), I squish out the seeds. I find that the tomato “goop” or “innards” make the salad watery. Plus (from what I’ve heard) tomato seeds aren’t good for certain bloodtypes. So there you have it. I take the seeds out.

IMG_2367 IMG_2368

4. Pit and slice olives. (Unfortunately, it turned out that our olives had been contaminated and had gotten mouldy. So we didn’t use them this time.) The picture below is the pitter that we use, though.

IMG_2369

5. Wash the spinach (and possibly cut into smaller pieces, depending on what size they are. I like to make sure each piece will fit on a fork with some of the other veggies) and add it to the salad with Feta cheese (to taste).

IMG_2370

Our salad is usually a lot bigger with the extra 1-2 tomatoes and more spinach, but I was trying to use up the veggies that we’d had left over from the week.

The dressing: what my family calls Sauce Vinegrette (We’re of a French background). I have never measured my ingredients, as it’s always been to taste and by sight. I was raised eating and making this dressing, so it’s like second nature to me. Though in these pictures my husband is making it (I taught him years ago, so he’s still getting practice).

Ingredients:

IMG_2375

– Salt
– Pepper
– Apple Cider vinegar
– Extra virgin olive oil
– 1 clove of garlic
– Parsley

1. In a bowl, shake in a healthy amount of salt (it’s pictured above, but it’s difficult to see against the white bowl).

2. Pour vinegar over salt. (Put in enough to dissolve the salt).

IMG_2378

3. Mix with a fork. Add more vinegar if the salt isn’t dissolving.

IMG_2379

4. Add pepper and mix with fork.

IMG_2380

5. Add chopped parsley.

IMG_2381

6. Add minced garlic.

IMG_2382

7. Stir and mix in olive oil.

IMG_2383

8. Stir until it looks like the picture or all the ingredients are completely mixed.

IMG_2384 IMG_2386

9. Pour it over salad.

IMG_2387

10. Toss and serve.

IMG_2388

The salad can be trial-and-error. Sometimes it might turn out a little vinegary. Taste it before you put it on the salad. If it is overwhelmingly vinegary, then put more olive oil and mix it.

I hope you enjoy it if you’ve tried it!

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

