Tomato Soup – Attempt #2

Good evening blog readers! Today I’m writing about my second attempt at tomato soup. It was better than the last one… but not by much. My husband says he loved it, but I think he’s just flattering me.

I found the recipe on Pinterest, but it is a different one than the last one I used.

This is the recipe I followed:

– 7 vine tomatoes
– 2-3 cloves of garlic
– 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
– Pinch of salt (to taste)
– Pinch of pepper (to taste)
– Chicken broth (recipe called for 2 cups, but I accidentally put in the whole container… which was about 4 cups)
– 1 cup cream
– 1 can tomato paste (I added this because I had to compensate for putting in too much broth)

Directions:

1. Mince garlic and put in saucepan with olive oil, salt, and pepper on low heat.

IMG_2586 IMG_2587

2. Chop tomatoes (I make sure to take out the stem area – as pictured below) and add it to the garlic and olive oil (be sure to retain the tomato juices). *Note: I made the mistake of putting the tomatoes into their own pot as I misunderstood the directions on the blog I followed. I ended up adding the garlic mixture on top of the tomatoes – which is probably why it ended up still tasting a lot like garlic.

IMG_2588 IMG_2589 IMG_2591

IMG_2592

3. Let the tomatoes, garlic, and olive oil mixture simmer on medium for 15 minutes.

IMG_2593

IMG_2594

4. Add in chicken broth.

IMG_2595

5. Let it cool for a few minutes before you put everything in the blender.

IMG_2596 IMG_2597

6. Blend until smooth.

IMG_2598

7. Return to stove and add cream.

IMG_2599

8. At this point, we added in the tomato paste and I used the whisk to stir it in.

IMG_2600 IMG_2602

9. Add salt, pepper, or any other flavours of your choice.

IMG_2604

10. Eat it on its own or enjoy with a grilled cheese!

IMG_2605 IMG_2606 IMG_2607

Enjoy and thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

