Colourful Chocolate Chip Cookies

Good morning, blog readers! Today I’m writing about a very odd batch of colourful chocolate chip cookies. My eldest son wanted green cookies and my middle son wanted purple… so I obliged them.

Again, I went on Pinterest and searched cookie recipes (let me tell you, there are some crazy delicious-looking cookies on there that I definitely plan on trying) and this is what I found:

*Note: firstly, I’d like to add that I thought the ratio of chocolate chips to flour was off, so I removed 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips and added 1/2 cup of oats (the recipe below reflects this change).

This is the recipe I followed:

– 1 1/4 cups flour
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
– 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
– 6 tbsp granulated white sugar
– 1 egg
– 1tsp vanilla extract
– 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
– 1/2 cups oats

IMG_2646

These are the directions I followed:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper. I ran out of space on my sheets, so I snuck in a couple of larger cookies. Next time, I think I’m going to prepare a third cookie sheet.

IMG_2648

3. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt. As I did in a previous recipe, I didn’t sift these. I used a whisk and mixed the dry ingredients together.

IMG_2649

4. In large bowl, beat butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth (two minutes?).

IMG_2650 IMG_2651

5. Add egg and vanilla then mix on low.

IMG_2652

IMG_2653

6. Slowly add flour and mix until incorporated. Here, my electric mixer began to sound like was going to burn out… the grinding and groaning tipped me off, so I switched to a wooden spoon.

IMG_2655

7. Add chocolate chips and oats.

IMG_2656

IMG_2657

8. Here, I separated my dough into two sections and began adding the food colouring. In retrospect, I probably should have added the colour along with the wet ingredients, because this was very difficult to stir and the colour didn’t integrate very well.

IMG_2658 IMG_2660 IMG_2661

9. Scoop balls onto parchment paper.

IMG_2662 IMG_2663

10. Bake one sheet at a time for approximately 13 minutes. Mine were in for a little longer because my cookies were bigger. It was also very difficult to judge if they were fully ready because of the colour. Some cookies ended up a little crunchy on the outside.

IMG_2664 IMG_2666

Despite what the recipe that I followed had said, this was FAR from the perfect cookie recipe. I’m trying a different one next time. Plus I’m going to avoid using colouring. There’s just something strange about eating green and purple cookies. My kids loved them, though!

IMG_2672_2

Enjoy and thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

