The Delicious Second Attempt at Enchiladas

Good morning, everyone! Today I’m writing about my second attempt at enchiladas. I changed a few things in the recipe, and it definitely worked out for the better. The problem I have with blogging it today is that my husband helped by making his own enchilada sauce (instead of my strained salsa idea from my last attempt), but after he’d gathered all the ingredients, his iPad battery died and he couldn’t find the recipe on Pinterest again… so he had to wing it.

I followed my previous recipe.

– 1 roasted chicken, carved and chopped
– 1 rice package (I used Uncle Ben’s Bistro Express Tomato and Herb flavour – different from last time, and much more flavourful) (prepared)
– 1/3 brick of cream cheese
– 2 tablespoons sour cream
– A bunch of shredded cheese (I used aged Cheddar)
– 2 tablespoons lime juice
– 1/4 teaspoon cumin
– Salt to taste
– 1 package flour tortillas
– 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
– Enchilada sauce (Hubby made this from scratch – Photos included below)
IMG_2831 IMG_2832
This is what Hubby did: I genuinely don’t know in what order he added his ingredients, but I know he cursed this recipe several times while mixing them. I’m sure it would have been easier had his iPad battery not died, causing him to lose the recipe and directions. It turned out delicious, though. We’ve got a container of it stored in the freezer for another enchilada night!
The ingredients he used:
– Salt
– Pepper
– Cumin
– Chicken broth
– Olive oil
– Garlic
– Brown sugar
– Diced tomatoes
– Tomato paste
– Oregano
– Paprika
– Chili powder
– Some other spices that I can’t read from the picture… sorry!
IMG_2825 IMG_2826 IMG_2827 IMG_2828 IMG_2830
The directions I followed:
1. Prepare the rice (I just followed the directions on the outside of the package.)
2. Combine chicken, rice, shredded cheese (half of the amount you’ve shredded), sour cream, cream cheese, cumin, lime juice, & salt, in large bowl.
IMG_2833 IMG_2834
3. Put the mixture in tortillas.
IMG_2836
4. Roll, and put in a deep baking pan.
IMG_2835 IMG_2837
5. Pour enchilada sauce over tortillas.
IMG_2838 IMG_2839
6. Pour whipping cream over the enchilada sauce.
IMG_2840
7. Sprinkle the rest of the shredded cheese on top.
IMG_2841
8. Loosely cover with aluminum foil.
IMG_2843
9. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Remove the foil and keep in if you want your cheese to keep cooking. I did, so I put it in for another 10 minutes.
IMG_2844 IMG_2845
This is the end result: Serve and enjoy!
IMG_2846 IMG_2847
This one was a vast improvement from my previous attempt. It was so good, we each had seconds. Hubby took some to work for lunch and I had my left-overs for breakfast. I know… don’t judge. It was just that good.
I honestly can’t wait to make more. Once I find out the directions for Hubby’s enchilada sauce, I’ll let you know.
Thank you for reading!
Leave a Reply

