The Fabulous Nuts and Bolts

Good morning, blog readers! Today should be a short entry, because, well, let’s face it, nuts and bolts are pretty simple to make.

This was another case of “how can I fit as much iron into my diet as possible” type moments. I know that the cereal Shreddies is really high in iron, so I wanted to incorporate it into my daily intake of foods. So here we have it.

I followed both this recipe and this recipe for this food project. Though with slightly different cereals and theirs has nuts and mine didn’t.

The ingredients:

– 1/2 cup butter
– 3 cups pretzels
– 2 cups cheese sticks
– 2 cups cheese squares
– 3 cups cheerios
– 3 cups shreddies
– 3 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
– 1/4 teaspoon cumin
– Splash of soy sauce
– Dash of garlic powder
– Dash of onion powder
– Shake of seasoning salt

*Note: in my original photo of the ingredients, I didn’t have Worcestershire sauce and I had the wrong type of shreddies. A special thanks to my husband for running to the store for me! xo

IMG_3008 IMG_3013

The directions:

1. Melt butter in saucepan.

IMG_3009 IMG_3015

2. Remove from heat and add all sauces and spices. Mix well.

IMG_3016 IMG_3018

3. Mix cereals, pretzels, and cheese crackers together in large bowl.

IMG_3010 IMG_3011 IMG_3014

4. Pour butter and spice mixture over cereal and cracker mixture.

IMG_3019

5. Mix well.

IMG_3020

6. Spread over 2 cookie sheets and place in the oven at 250 degrees F for one hour, stirring around every 15 minutes.

IMG_3021 IMG_3023

7. Let cool and enjoy!

IMG_3024 IMG_3025 IMG_3027

These went over really well with my kids. Seriously. This was all gone within the day.

Final thought: There’s no question. These were fantastic. I plan on making another batch this weekend. I highly recommend these for yumminess factor. Mmm…

Enjoy and thank you all so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

