Like an Author in a Bookstore

Good morning, everyone! Yesterday I went to a wildly exciting bookstore in Downtown Vancouver called MacLeod’s Books. Let me tell you something… it was fantastic!

There’s something utterly magical about going into a bookstore. Particularly one filled to the rafters with old books. To me, the feeling is indescribable. Adrenaline pumps through my veins as I anticipate the hunt for the perfect find that makes my heart sing. Absolutely wonderful.

These are photos of MacLeod’s that I found on Google:

0f373eba20bb324b05c11a240c9931e6 d44e204987c4932b8612dba95f5ce75b db67c87d8ff9daf922239ada447f850f e69a5f996ec5ca5382970f4af4239e42

Yes. This is actually what it looks like inside the store. In fact, I’d wager that it’s gotten more crowded in there since these photos were taken.

I could have spent days going through the teetering stacks of books, but sadly, I hadn’t that much time. At first, I walked through their “main” store and then I inquired about older books (I love my antiquarian books!) so they led me to a “holding” place across the street that held a bunch of their older books.

I would have taken pictures, myself, of the inside of this store, but I can honestly – and unabashedly – say that I was completely distracted by all the beautiful books.

These were my finds:

IMG_3046 IMG_3045

English Ballads (A selection from Percy, Ritson, and other sources). Printed in 1848.

IMG_3044

Rory O’More by Samuel Lover. Printed in 1839.

IMG_3043

Ben-Hur by Lew. Wallace. Printed in 1888.

IMG_3041

A Memoir of Jane Austen by her nephew, J.E. Austen-Leigh. Nearly new.

IMG_3040

Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens. 100 years old.

I found the ones that stood out to me… and that were of a price I could stomach. There was a set of books of poetry by Lord Byron printed in London in 1814 that I desperately wanted… but just one volume was $2,500.00. And, well, let’s face it, there was no way I could afford them. Generally, however, I prefer older books, preferably printed in the 1700s and very early 1800s.

I look forward to going back there to do some more book hunting. Hopefully one day I’ll have a collection of antique Jane Austen’s works on my shelves! (What a dream that would be!)

Alas, these were my picks! I have more antiquarian books in my collection, which I will be happy to share once I’ve unpacked them and put them on shelves in my office (whenever the shelves get done). Let’s hope it’s soon!

Thank you all for reading! Have a fantastic weekend!

Edit/addition: Thank you, Mom, for taking me and watching my kids! You’re the best! Happy Christmas to me. xo

Leave a Reply

