How I Started Writing

Good morning, everyone! As I mentioned in my previous blog, I haven’t been doing any real cooking lately. Last night for dinner we had scrambled eggs, hash browns, and cheesy sausages. So, naturally, I haven’t had much in the way of material for food-related blogs.

Alas, I thought I would share something about myself. As most of you probably already know, I began writing as a young child, mostly scribbles in notebooks that I claimed were novels. But what actually began me wanting to write true stories was a book that I had read by Betsy Byars called Beans on the Roof. It is about a young boy wants to write a story.

beans

After I put down that book, I picked up a notebook and began to write in earnest. I have countless notebooks filled with short stories that I had written as a child and throughout my adolescence. I believe that at the time I preferred mystery and adventure stories, as was evident from my writing.

By the time I was in my pre-teen and early teen years, I found that my writing turned into poetry; mostly sappy love poems or angry teen poems. Once my office is set up and I have unpacked all of my boxes, I will gladly share some of these with you. Honestly, they’re laughable.

If you have read any of my bios or my webpage, you will know the rest of my writing story. By the age of fifteen I was at the grocery store with my Mom and I asked her if I could pick a book to read. She said yes, but, because she was in the lineup to pay, I had to be quick. I ran to the book section and picked the book with the cover that caught my attention the most. That book was Blue Moon by Jill Marie Landis.

Blue Moon

This book brought me into a world I had never known existed. The world of historical romance. I was in love. Since then, I haven’t stopped reading the genre.

The rest is pretty simple; I started wishing that I could find novels with very specific plot lines. I read the backs of books, searching and searching for the exact novels that I wanted to read. At the urging of my husband (thank you!) I began to write plot outlines for novels, pulled up my computer, put my hands to the keys, and wrote. I was finally able to have books with the exact plot that I loved and wanted to read.

It is likely that I will write further blog posts on the subject, but these are the basics on how I got started.

Thank you all so much for reading!

2 thoughts on “How I Started Writing

Leave a Reply

