Salty But Strangely Delicious Cookies

Good evening, everyone! Today I’m writing about the batch of cookies that I made last night for my son’s Kindergarten class’ party today. It was kindly suggested/requested by my son’s teacher that parents bring goodies if they wished. So of course, I couldn’t refuse.

This is the recipe I followed:

– 2 1/4 cups flour
– 1 teaspoon salt (Hubby commented that this and the baking soda was too much while we were baking, but I was adamant that the recipe called for it, so it must be put in…)
– 1 teaspoon baking soda (same comment as above)
– 1 cup unsalted, room temperature butter
– 3/4 cup white sugar
– 3/4 cup brown sugar
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 2 eggs
– Chocolate chips (recipe called for “1 bag” but as we buy huge bags, this wouldn’t work. So I estimated)

IMG_3616

The directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Pre-mix dry ingredients. I mixed this with a whisk just for fun. Note: This is when my husband said that there was too much baking soda and too much salt. I was adamant that I was correct because it said so in the recipe.

IMG_3617

3. Smooth/soften butter by mixing. I would ordinarily use my hand mixer for this, but Hubby insisted that he could do it himself.

4. Add white sugar to butter and mix.

5. Add brown sugar to sugar-butter mixture and mix.

IMG_3618

6. Add one egg at a time and mix.

IMG_3620

7. Add vanilla extract.

IMG_3623

8. Slowly incorporate flour mixture.

IMG_3625 IMG_3626 IMG_3628

9. Add chocolate chips. As you can see, we had helpers. My kids added the ingredients and Hubby stirred.

IMG_3629 IMG_3633

10. Roll into balls and put on cookie sheet. We used parchment paper, which really helped with getting the cookies off the sheet afterward.

11. Bake for 9-15 minutes, depending on how hot your oven cooks. Ours tends to be on the low side, so ours took 15 minutes to bake. This recipe made four cookie sheets of cookies.

IMG_3636 IMG_3635 IMG_3634

12. Let cool and enjoy!

IMG_3637 IMG_3638

Final thoughts: This recipe definitely had “too much” salt and baking soda. Needless to say, the cookies had an odd, salty flavour to them. But strangely enough, they ended up delicious. The salty taste contrasted the sweet, which could be dangerous in that one could easily eat too many.

They were a big hit with my family. I’m not sure how my son’s classmates enjoyed them, though, as I had to pick my son up early from school. He fell on the playground at recess and chipped one of his teeth. But don’t worry. He’s seen the dentist and is a-ok for tomorrow’s school day.

Thanks for reading, everyone!

Leave a Reply

