The Attempt at Coleslaw

Good morning, everyone! Today I’m writing about my attempt at making coleslaw for my pulled chicken sandwiches. We had never had the sandwiches with coleslaw, but the thought of the possibility was always there.

Naturally, I searched Pinterest and found what I was searching for.

This is the recipe I followed:

– 1 bag classic coleslaw (I used 1/2 of a head of cabbage and shredded carrots)
– 1 cup mayonnaise
– 1/3 cup sugar
– 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1/2 teaspoon pepper
– 1/4 teaspoon celery seed (we did not add this, as Hubby is allergic to celery)
In retrospect, I realize that I did not chop the cabbage fine enough. It still turned out tasty, but next time I’m definitely chopping it finer, or perhaps shredding it, as well.
IMG_3766 IMG_3767 IMG_3768 IMG_3770
You will probably notice the hand in this photo. It was my 4 year old son asking “What are you doing with this stuff?” He didn’t give me the chance to explain, he just ran back to the living room.
These are the directions:
1. Mix ingredients. Ta da!
IMG_3772 IMG_3774
*The recipe called for the mixture to be refrigerated for several hours before serving, but I did not have the luxury of time, nor had I given this any forethought, so I served it right away.
This is when I made my sandwiches and added the coleslaw inside. I am not ordinarily a coleslaw ‘person’, but when it came to this particular meal, I greatly enjoyed the crunch and fresh taste of the coleslaw with the savoury pulled chicken. This was a hit!
IMG_3775 IMG_3777 IMG_3779
Thank you so much for reading! Stay tuned for my upcoming blog that looks at how I write. Happy Wednesday!
Leave a Reply

