Book Review – In Bed With the Duke by Christina Dodd

In Bed with the Duke (Governess Brides, #8)In Bed with the Duke by Christina Dodd
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I am unsure how to rate this novel. While I absolutely loved the first half, I despised the second. The relationship between the Reaper and Emma was infectious and enchanting. In the second half, however, the “love” scene between Michael and Emma (the hero and heroine) read more like a rape scene, which both disturbed and disgusted me. Phrases like “I have this right. I take this right.” and “I own you” are overly possessive and potentially threatening/menacing. Emma might have been thinking “yes”, but she was saying “no” and clearly fighting him.

Because of my conflict of emotions and opinions from one half of the novel to the other, I give it 1 1/2 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

