How I Find My Inspiration

Good evening, blog readers! This post will hopefully prove helpful for those of you struggling to find inspiration for your own projects.

idea

When it comes to plot ideas, there are several ways that I find inspiration:

1. I have a dream. It is because of my mid-sleep inspirations that I keep my phone (and on it, my notepad) on my bedside table.
2. I hear a song with lyrics that resonate with me, allowing my imagination to wander.
3. In extremely rare moments of silence. Whenever the kids are being watched by a family member and I’ve got a little time to myself, I think of all the plot possibilities.
4. Watching movies. I internally pick movie plots apart in my mind, wondering what would have happened if things had progressed differently.

As for character inspirations, I gather ideas differently:

1. To find inspiration for personality traits, I spend a lot of time observing others. I watch for nervous twitches, habits, listen to the cadence of their voices, etc. I can also find these from film and television.
2. Once I know who my character is, personality-wise, I search Pinterest for visual inspiration.

I keep a private folder on my computer and in Pinterest filled with photos of men, women, animals, estates, scenery, and Regency-styled rooms. When each of my novels are close to their publication date, I will share the visual-inspiration for each of the novels’ characters in a blog.

Whenever I find myself lacking for inspiration, I engross myself in something related to my project. In my particular case, it is always something Regency-oriented, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, or Emma, for example. Whether it is in film or novel format, I find a way to sit down with them and get that familiar anticipation for my Regency novels once more.

I hope that this blog has helped those of you looking for inspiration, and for the rest of you, I hope that you enjoyed the insight into my life as a Historical Romance author.

Thank you all for reading! I hope you have a lovely week!

14 thoughts on “How I Find My Inspiration

  1. This is a great post! I find that when I’m working on something I tend to do all of these things myself. I keep waking up at 3:00 a.m. with fantastic dialogue running through my head. I’m always writing it down so I don’t forget it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice post, Cheri! Songs always do it for me. Just about everything I’ve ever written has what is basically a soundtrack of songs that inspired it. But I also definitely need to start the dream journal thing. I’ve lost ideas due to my neglect of that, no matter how many times I hear it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks! Yeah, I’ve gotten at least two plot ideas from a song. The novel I’m currently writing is one of them. I know, I’m so bad at forgetting my great ideas before I write them down in the night. I’m terrible at remembering dreams!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks, Cheri. Dreams can be great triggers, but how about the ideas that come to you when you’re lying awake in the middle of the night? Great idea for Pinterest. I never thought of using Pinterest for character ideas, but then again I’ve never thought of using Pinterest for anything. (Might change that.) Thx!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re absolutely right! I often come up with ideas when I’m lying awake at night. Also when I’m chopping vegetables or washing the dishes, any time my mind is *mostly* at rest, really.

      You’re welcome! I hope that if you get yourself set up on Pinterest that you find much inspiration!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A writing instructor mentioned to my class about putting newspaper articles in a box, just save them. When you have a few, you can pull out the articles, mix and match until a plotline jumps out at you. Of course, this works better for the mystery type novels. He gave several good examples as well.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow, really? That’s actually a really interesting method of plot-forming/brainstorming. You’re right that it would work better with a mystery or thriller plot line. I’d never thought that someone would do that, but I bet it works! Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I find that my most creative brainstorming moments are when I am finally laying in my bed, lights out, sound machine on, and my mind is able to go wherever it chooses. Sometimes I direct it, but other times, I’ll just let it go. I am constantly amazed by how many solid ideas are generated this way. The lesson for me is that I need to completely disengage from everything and just let my mind do all the work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a great post! And I discover my plot ideas in similar ways, especially with regard to you dream and music suggestions. One I would add — I hate running, but I have some of my best plot ideas while plodding along. Talk about a Catch-22!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

